Building inventory database
Example: A geopackage or shapefile containing building footprints with structural attributes and replacement costs.
Step-by-step guidance
1. Dataset-level metadata
Select the following values when describing your dataset:
Risk data type:
exposureTitle: “Building inventory for [region]”
Description: Brief description of the building database, data collection method, and coverage
Publisher: Organization that compiled or maintains the building inventory
License: Appropriate license
2. Resources
Add resources for your building inventory files:
Format:
geopackage,shapefile,csv, orgeojsonSpatial resolution: Building-level (footprint) or aggregated (e.g., grid cell)
Coordinate reference system:
EPSG:4326or appropriate projected CRS
3. Exposure metadata
Under the Exposure section:
Category
Category:
buildings
Taxonomy
Select the appropriate taxonomy source:
Source:
GED4ALL(Global Exposure Database for All)Alternative sources: custom taxonomy, national building codes, PAGER
Metrics
Define what is being measured for each building:
Metric 1 - Structure value:
Dimension:
structureQuantity kind:
currencyUnit: Currency code (e.g.,
USD,EUR)
Metric 2 - Building count (if aggregated):
Dimension:
buildingsQuantity kind:
countUnit:
1(dimensionless count)
Metric 3 - Floor area (optional):
Dimension:
structureQuantity kind:
areaUnit:
m2
Occupancy
Specify building use types present in the inventory:
residentialcommercialindustrialinfrastructure(Select all that apply)
4. Spatial coverage
Define the geographic extent:
Scale:
sub-national,national, orregionalCountries: Select applicable ISO 3166-1 alpha-3 country codes
Administrative regions: Specify provinces/cities if relevant
Bounding box: Specify coordinates of the inventory coverage
Example data structure
Your building inventory should include attributes such as:
Building ID
Geometry (point or polygon)
Occupancy type
Building taxonomy code
Number of stories
Construction material
Year built
Replacement cost
Floor area
Number of occupants (if available)
Key considerations
Use standardized taxonomy codes (e.g., GED4ALL) for consistency
Document the currency and reference year for cost values
Specify whether values are replacement cost, market value, or other
Include data collection date and methodology in additional details