Earthquake loss database
Example: A tabular database documenting economic losses from a historical earthquake event, with values in USD and breakdowns by loss type and geographic area.
Step-by-step guidance
1. Dataset-level metadata
Select the following values when describing your dataset:
Risk data type:
lossTitle: “Economic losses from [earthquake event name/date]”
Description: Brief description of the earthquake event, affected regions, and data collection methodology
Publisher: Organization that compiled the loss data (e.g., government agency, World Bank, insurance association)
License: Appropriate license
2. Resources
Add resources for your loss database files:
Format:
csv,xlsx, orgeopackageSpatial resolution: Administrative level, building-level, or grid-based
Coordinate reference system:
EPSG:4326(if spatial) or not applicable for tabular data
3. Loss metadata
Under the Loss section:
Loss category
Category:
economic
Hazard event reference
Link to the specific hazard event:
Hazard type:
earthquakeEvent name: Official name or designation of the earthquake
Event date: Date of occurrence (ISO 8601 format: YYYY-MM-DD)
Event magnitude: Moment magnitude (Mw) or other scale
Event location: Epicenter coordinates or affected region
Loss metrics
Define what loss types are measured:
Metric 1 - Direct structural damage:
Loss type:
directDimension:
structureUnit: Currency code (e.g.,
USD)Reference year: Year for currency valuation
Metric 2 - Direct contents damage (optional):
Loss type:
directDimension:
contentUnit: Currency code
Metric 3 - Business interruption (optional):
Loss type:
indirectDimension:
business_interruptionUnit: Currency code
Metric 4 - Casualties (optional):
Loss type:
humanDimension:
fatalitiesorinjuriesUnit:
peopleorcount
Temporal information
Assessment date: When losses were assessed or reported
Time period: If losses accumulated over time (e.g., business interruption duration)
4. Spatial coverage
Define the geographic extent of losses:
Scale:
sub-nationalornationalCountries: Select applicable ISO 3166-1 alpha-3 country codes
Administrative regions: Provinces/districts affected
Bounding box: Coordinates of affected area
Example data structure
Your loss database should include:
For spatially-aggregated losses:
Geographic unit ID (e.g., admin code, district ID)
Geographic unit name
Geometry or coordinates (if spatial)
Direct structural losses
Direct contents losses
Indirect/business interruption losses
Number of buildings damaged by damage state
Population affected
Fatalities and injuries
Example CSV structure:
District_Code,District_Name,Direct_Loss_Structure_USD,Direct_Loss_Content_USD,Buildings_Damaged,Population_Affected,Fatalities
YEM001,Sana'a,125000000,45000000,2500,150000,45
YEM002,Taiz,78000000,28000000,1800,95000,28
YEM003,Aden,52000000,18000000,1200,60000,15
For building-level losses:
Building ID
Location (coordinates)
Building type/taxonomy
Damage state
Structural loss value
Contents loss value
Occupants affected
Key considerations
Specify the currency and reference year for all monetary values
Include exchange rates if values were originally in local currency
Note if values are adjusted for inflation
Document the source of loss estimates
Government assessments
Insurance claims data
Field surveys (PDNA, DALA)
Remote sensing damage assessment
Engineering estimates
Distinguish between different loss types:
Direct losses: Physical damage to assets (structure, contents, inventory)
Indirect losses: Business interruption, production losses, economic disruption
Intangible losses: Loss of life, cultural heritage, environmental damage
Include information about:
Assessment methodology and assumptions
Coverage (insured vs. uninsured losses)
Disaggregation (by sector, building type, damage state)
Uncertainty and confidence levels
Reference the specific earthquake event clearly:
Official designation or name
Date and time
Magnitude and depth
Link to earthquake catalog or USGS event ID
Note any exclusions or limitations:
Partial coverage areas
Excluded sectors or loss types
Time cutoffs for loss accumulation
Linking to hazard and exposure data
When possible, provide linkages to:
Hazard: Reference the earthquake event in a hazard catalog
Exposure: Link to building inventory or exposure dataset for affected area
Vulnerability: Reference damage functions used if losses are modeled rather than observed